skip to main content
Counseling Center
University of Mississippi


At the University Counseling Center, you will find a team of dedicated professionals who strive to offer the best care possible in an atmosphere of respect and dignity for our clients.  We offer our services in accordance with the legal limits of confidentiality directed by the State of Mississippi legal statutes, as well as with the direction of the codes of ethics of the American Counseling Association (ACA) and American Psychological Association (APA), American Medical Association (AMA) and National Association of Social Workers (NASW). 

All sessions, communications, and client files are fully protected by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).


The University Counseling Center staff is expected to adhere to all relevant ethical standards as outlined by the ACA, APA and HIPAA. Confidentiality will be strictly observed at all times. 

  • No record of counseling is included in any academic, educational, or personnel file except as approved by the client. 
  • No information written or oral will be released to other persons without the client’s written permission.

Please note: By law, limitations on confidentiality apply when there is risk of imminent self-harm or harm to others.

Student Eligibility

All currently enrolled students are eligible for counseling services. Students who are currently enrolled in at least three credit hours, may be non-degree seeking, are eligible for counseling services. Students of the satellite campuses are eligible for counseling services at the University Counseling Center by telehealth services.  Regarding summer students, students who are considered continuously enrolled and eligible for services include those who were enrolled in the previous Spring semester and are enrolled in the upcoming Fall semester. Students who are full-time employees of the university are eligible for the EAP-MH services.   

In addition to enrollment status, a student must be 18 years of age or older to be eligible to receive counseling services without a release signed by a parent or legal guardian. If a student presents to the counseling center and is under the age of 18, the student’s parent(s) or legal guardian(s) must sign a release prior to the student’s receiving services. 


We refer clients to other services for a number of reasons. These reasons may include: their needs fall outside our scope of practice, they are not eligible for UCC services, we are unable to serve them in a timely fashion, or because they prefer to be treated outside of the UCC.


A 24 hour notice is appreciated, however a client must notify the Counseling Center at least two hours in advance to not be charged. 

Late Arrivals/No Shows for All Services

Due to the heavy demand for services, a no-show fee/late cancellation fee of $50 for individual appointments will be charged to the student’s Bursar account. The client must notify the Counseling Center at least 2 hours prior to their scheduled appointment to avoid the late cancellation fee. A client can notify the Counseling Center through email (, by telephone (662-915-3784), or in person at the Counseling Center.

*A $50 fee will be charged to the student’s Bursar Account if any of the following occur:

  • You fail to attend your appointment
  • You fail to cancel 2 hours prior to your scheduled appointment
  • You are more than 15 minutes late to your scheduled appointment

Psychiatric New Client Charges

All Psychiatric new client appointments (first appointment) will be charged a fee of $10. This is a one-time only fee and charges will be made to the student’s Bursar account.  All follow up appointments are FREE of charge.